(250) 489-8999

What Types of Cases are Eligible?

The criteria for eligible cases is determined by the Community Accountability Programs contract and the experience of the facilitator volunteers. Generally, to qualify for funding, Community Accountability Programs must:

  • Be volunteer based.
  • Adhere to the Ministry’s Framework for Restorative Justice.
  • Demonstrate community and criminal justice support, including victims organizations.
  • Accept referrals for Category 3 and 4 Offences only.
  • Not accept referrals for sexual assault, spousal assault, and hate motivated crimes.
  • Conduct criminal record checks on all facilitators.
  • Maintain strict confidentiality of the victim and offender.

Source Link


Criminal Cases which apply:
Generally Termed Category 3 and 4 Offences, but there are specific limitations within those categories, CJF referrals from Crown and the RCMP are generally:

  • Theft under $5000.00
  • Mischief under $5000.00
  • Assault that is NOT a power-based crime (power-based crime includes violence against women in relationships, sexual assault, and/or hate motivated crimes).

Source Link